Do you know the history of Palazzo Vendramin Grimani?
Follow a tour through the walls of the historic residence to discover the Venetian patrician families who inhabited it.
The ceiling of the Hall of the Four Families, with stucco work of Ticino manufacture created between 1745 and 1751, tells a unique Venetian story.
The coats of arms of the Grimani dall'Albero d'Oro family, who occupied the palace for more than five centuries, are visible, together with important Venetian families with whom the family had been united through marriage over the years.
One can recognise the arms of the Morosini, Querini, Giustinian and Pisani families.
The room was originally the religious chapel of the Grimani dall'Albero d'Oro. It was then dismantled between 1741 and 1747 to be decorated with the dense pattern of stuccoes on the ceiling presenting a celebratory iconography of the Grimani family.
Every corner of the ceiling features panoplies representing four glories of the Grimani dall'Albero d'Oro family at the time of the Venetian Republic: religious, political, military and commercial.